SCHOOL DISTRICT <u>SPECIAL</u> BOARD MEETING BOARD OF TRUSTEES HUGHES SPRINGS INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

January 23, 2017 6:00 P.M.

Bill Lindsey, Presiding

Members Present

Bill Lindsey

Van Hall

Members Absent

Rick Nelson Billy Willis Brandon Golden

<u>School Personnel Present</u> Sarah Dildine, Superintendent

Guests (See attached list)

1. <u>OPENING ACTIVITIES</u>

A. <u>CALL to Order/Declaration of Quorum</u> by President Bill Lindsey

Robyn Shelton

Clint Morgan

B. <u>INVOCATION</u> given by Van Hall; Pledge of Allegiance lead by Robyn Shelton

2. <u>HEARING REGARDING HUGHES SPRINGS ISD AS A DISTRICT OF INNOVATION</u>

A. Public Comment

There was no comment from those present regarding Hughes Springs ISD's application to become a District of Innovation. *Education Code 12A.001*

3. <u>AGENDA ITEMS</u>

A. CONSIDERATION to Approve a Committee to Develop a Local Innovation Plan for Hughes Springs ISD. *Education Code 12A.002(b)(2;12A.003)*

On motion by Clint Morgan, seconded by Robyn Shelton, it was moved to allow the superintendent to appoint a committee as required by TEC 12A.002(b)(2) and TEC 12A.003 to develop a local plan of comprehensive educational programs with innovations and to determine a list of Education Code provisions to be exempt. Superintendent Sarah Dildine advised the Board she was adding business manager Derick Sibley and three teachers per campus to the already established 2016-17 District Sitebased Committee to make up the Local Innovation Planning Committee. Motion passed on a 4 to 0 vote.

A brief outline of the process, a proposed timeline to accomplish the process, and a list of some of the current provisions under the Texas Education Code that administration wants to consider for exemption are a part of these minutes.

020

Special Meeting January 23, 2017 Page Two

9. <u>CLOSING ACTIVITIES</u>

A. Questions asked of and by Board Members

There were no other questions asked of or by the board.

B. <u>Adjournment</u>

On motion by Van Hall, seconded by Clint Morgan, it was moved to adjourn the meeting. Motion carried on a 4 to 0 vote.

Bill Lindsey, President

Juanita R. Clark, Acting Secretary